Click here to skip navigation
Skip Navigation

In This Section

Center for Leadership Development
Schedule at a Glance

Federal Risk Management Process Training Program


  • Aug 14-16, 2018 at Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration National Training Center, 1310 N. Courthouse Road, Suite 600, Western Learning Center classroom, Tuition: $1950  (#23306)   REGISTER

    Start Time First Day 8:30 am - End Time Last Day 5:00 pm.
  • Sep 25-27, 2018 at Transportation Safety Institute, Oklahoma City, OK, Tuition: $1950  (#23307)   REGISTER

    Start Time First Day 8:30 am - End Time Last Day 5:00 pm.


The Federal Risk Management Process Training Program (RMPTP) certifies students on the Risk Management Process course of instruction and the Risk Management Process Tool. Both of which are the first to be certified by the Interagency Security Committee (ISC). Students develop the ability to prepare accurate federal facility risk assessments utilizing the Interagency Security Committee Risk Management Process.

How You Will Benefit

Using the Interagency Security Committee’s The Risk Management Process: An Interagency Security Committee Standard policy documents, participants will be able to:

  • Master how to determine a Facility Security Level
  • Identify a Baseline Level of Protection
  • Assess risks
  • Determine the Necessary or Highest Level of Protection
  • Implement customized Countermeasures
  • Master how to determine threat, vulnerability and consequence utilizing the Design-Basis Threat Report
  • Become proficient in customizing the Risk Management Process Tool

Who Should Attend

Anyone involved in the risk management decision-making process for the security of a facility and practitioners who participate in the development of security countermeasures, to include: Security Officials; Chairpersons; Facility Security Committees; Real Estate Acquisition Specialists; Federal Security Supervisors and Managers; and others involved with Federal facility acquisition, construction, and renovation projects.


Participants are expected to complete the following Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Emergency Management Institute (EMI) Independent Study Program (ISP) courses prior to training*

  1. IS-1170 – Introduction to the Interagency Security Committee (ISC)

    Introduces the history of the ISC, its mission, organization, and a basic overview of the ISC Risk Management Process (RMP);

  2. IS-1171 – Overview of Interagency Security Committee (ISC) Publications

    Discusses the ISC standards, policies, and recommendations that support the RMP;

  3. IS-1172 – Risk Management Process for Federal Facilities - Facility Security Level (FSL) Determination

    Shows the process for determining the Facility Security Level (FSL) for a Federal facility;

  4. IS-1173 – (FOUO) Levels of Protection (LOP) and Application of the Design-Basis Threat (DBT) Report (U)

    Covers the process for determining an appropriate Level of Protection (LOP) and how to apply the Design-Basis Threat (DBT) Report; and

  5. IS-1174 – Facility Security Committees (FSCs)

    Explains Facility Security Committee operations and decision-making process.

Please submit copies of your EMI Training Certificates (prerequisites identified above) or a transcript indicating completion of all prerequisite courses to Janet White at the Office of Personnel Management. She can be reached at


Unless the course is listed as RESIDENTIAL, lodging and meals are not included in the tuition.